The Trophies


Rivermead Challenge Cup
(Played for from 1920 – 1935, now played for the Low Canadian)

The Rivermead Challenge Cup rotated, primarily across the border to the United States, for each year’s sojourn at the winner’s club- with the exception of 1933 when the trophy makes it to the border and no further.  It was held at the border at Buffalo, New York, for the year of Australian Joe Kirkwood’s championship. Kirkwood was serving as the professional at a club in Chicago, but the trophy never did make it to the display case.


The Seagram Gold Cup
(Played for from 1936 – 1970)

The Seagram Gold Cup also began the all but steady trip south of the border so the champion could showcase it in his home or home club.  While the winner had to return the Gold Cup in time for the next championship, he was also presented with a miniature cup to commemorate his victory. But the Seagram Cup was not without its own adventures. It was held hostage in the 1949 divorce settlement of champion Dutch Harrison when his estranged wife claimed the trophy as part of his assets. A judge ruled that it was indeed not part of Harrison’s assets and it was released just in time to be shipped to Royal Montreal for the 1950 Open.


The Du Maurier Trophy
(Played for from 1971 – 1993)

The base of the du Maurier Trophy incorporates the maple leaf, crossed clubs and silver plates to bear the inscriptions.  The trophy itself  didn’t have to travel across border on a yearly basis, while the champion’s award was a unique piece of art- an award that some champions have said is their favourite.


The RBC Canadian Open Trophy

The flags of each province and territory in Canada surround the lip of the RBC Canadian Open Trophy itself, while the lid features a map of the nation and the maple leaf. The RCGA crest crowns it all to identify the organization, now more than 100 years old, that has conducted the championship since 1904.

Become a Sponsor >>